In our beautiful Nhill Hospital we are increasingly able to offer life changing surgery to our local and surrounding communities, both by the changing technology available to us and the skillful hands of our visiting surgeons.

For those of you who may have already had surgery here, or had a member of your family benefit from these services, you know only too well the advantage of having surgery close to home and family. Dr Mark Chehade is a highly respected Ophthalmologist who is credentialed by West Wimmera Health Service to provide cataract surgery at Nhill Hospital.

We currently perform between 24 and 30 cataract surgeries per month. For 20 years, Mr Chehade has been the only ophthalmologist servicing the area and allowing hundreds of patients every year to have their eye sight restored or saved.

The IOLMaster 700 is a key piece of equipment that has been identified as being of high priority. In Dr Chehade’s words, for cataract surgery:

“It is state-of-the-art accuracy for determining the most appropriate lens implant”

An IOLMaster 700 offers a highly accurate, non-invasive automated method for measuring the anatomical characteristics of the eye. Unusual eye geometries, if left undetected can lead to an unsatisfactory post-operative experience. Accurate measurements are critical when operating on an eyeball! Sounds wonderful, but as you can imagine it comes with a significant price tag. Over $70,000!

So we need your help!

It is so reassuring to be able to have required surgery in a hospital of your choice, with your family close by to assist and provide care during those first few post-operative days/weeks. Many will hear stories of patients who have undergone cataract surgery, only to hear them remark on “what they have missed” – from the ability to function for a significant part of their day to day routine without spectacles to seeing all that dust on the shelves at home!

This indeed can be considered “life-changing”, especially if you have been spectacle dependent for a significant period of time. Good eyesight is key to living a full independent life.

Please help us raise money for this important cause.